Love at first sight: Edinburgh

Bagpiper auf der Royal Mile in Edinburgh

Love at first sight: Edinburgh

Edinburgh is known for whiskey, bagpipes and men without underpants (under their kilt). Of course, the best ingredients for a city trip. Before the flight, I had looked at some blog posts and videos about the city and did some research. Nevertheless, I never thought that I would fall in love with this city so intensely. Edinburgh is not too big to be overrun by people and yet it’s a hodgepodge of history, monarchy, modern and funky neighborhoods (Stockbridge!) And the cutest gift shops I’ve ever seen. Every corner wants and needs to be photographed. I’m still thinking about when to travel to Edinburgh again  …

Royal Mile in Edinburgh in November

Royal Mile Edinburgh

Me in Action

 

The best time to visit

Yes, most days of the year it rains in Edinburgh and in summer it rarely gets warmer than 20 degrees Celsius. Still no reason not to visit this Scottish beauty. Every year in August, the inhabitants of the city double. During this month, the so-called Fringe Festival will be held. It is the world’s largest cultural festival! Throughout the city, various shows, plays and performances take place. Our friends from Edinburgh are crazy about this festival. Check out the homepage or tell me if you’ve been there before!

My absolute favorite time in the UK is autumn. Nothing is better than sitting in a pub in front of a roaring log fire when it’s raining cats and dogs outside. Somehow we traveled to the UK for a second time in November, maybe a little tradition. The autumn colors: red, brown, orange and yellow still dominate the landscape and cities during this month. Especially in Edinburgh the colorful contrast to the grey houses is incredibly beautiful. And in good weather, it offers the best photo scenes.

Edinburgh is the ultimate travel destination for all Christmas lovers in December! The Christmas Market on “East Princes Street Gardens” offers an unbeatable festive atmosphere. Great highlights are the ice skating rink and the Christmas tree labyrinth. So if you’ve already seen all the Christmas markets in your city, Edinburgh is worth a visit.

Ich auf den Straßen von Edinburgh

Fetty's College in Edinburgh

 

Must Visits in Edinburgh

Of course, there are countless guides that list all the sights in Edinburgh. The Royal Mile, Mary King’s Close, the Holyrood Palace, Arthur’s Seat and and and … all are really worth a visit! But, from my point of view, there are still a handful, some more secret and less known (or just rarely mentioned, haha) sights and places to visit and see.

Greyfriars Bobby

Number One: Greyfriars Bobby! A life size statue of a little terrier. The story behind it: Little Bobby belonged to a policeman who died and was buried in Greyfriars Kirkyard Cemetery. For the next 14 years, little Bobby lived in the cemetery next to his owner’s grave. The statue is reminiscent of the faithful friend. A myth says that if you stroke the dog’s nose, it will bring you good luck. The cemetery holds more myths. Many names of the graves gave the names many Harry Potter characters, e.g. Tom Riddle (Voldemort).

Greyfriars Bobby in Edinburgh

Grassmarket

Now to a great place for food and shopping, and my number two: Edinburgh’s Grassmarket. Formerly a medieval market square, today lined with many small shops, cafes and pubs. The historic buildings give the square a special touch. The tastiest lunch I had in Edinburgh was at Graze On Grassmarket. Here you can put together tortillas, bread rolls, baked potatoes or salads with dozens of different ingredients. True to the motto: As much as you can fill it with. And that for only 3.95 pounds! As soon as you have eaten, you will continue to the vintage shop of W. Armstrong & Son. Upon entering you will be greeted by the smell of mothballs. Here you can find clothes from all decades. Also old army uniforms. Great for theme parties or carnival!

Grassmarket in Edinburgh

Edinburgh a view of the city

Forth Bridge

The red Forth Bridge is one of Edinburgh’s landmarks and my number three for you. The railway is handled via the Forth Bridge. The bridge is almost 120 years old, wow! A good viewpoint you will find at South Queensferry. It’s accessible by bus or car. From here you have a great view over the Firth of Forth.

Ich vor der Forth Bridge Edinburgh

Tom und ich vor der Forth Bridge in Edinburgh

Forth Bridge in Edinburgh

Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh

Number four: I think botanical gardens are great. The accumulation of tropical plants and cactus worlds fascinate me. I would like to have a whole botanical garden in my living room (I’m working on it!). The Royal Botanic Gardens in Edinburgh are really worth a visit. Not only do you have a great view of the city from there, but also the many different greenhouses and tropical houses. Furthermore, you also have to make a detour to the souvenir shop. From there I have a super sweet coffee jar with bird print (love!).

 

Hip, hipper, Stockbridge

For my number five I chose: Stockbridge. This district is filled with character. The area is characterized by the many gift shops, tea houses, small restaurants, cafes and pubs. Stockbridge feels like its own little town. For creative minds and hip people, it’s the perfect place. I could list a huge list with must-do’s in Stockbridge. But I’m making it short. A small list of the best places to eat: The Raeburn Pub, For a cup of coffee: Artisan Roast, For a quick snack in between: No. 33, For souvenir shopping: Popping Up in Stockbridge.

Häuserfassaden in Edinburgh

 

My favorite Edinburgh
Blogposts & Videos

Before every good trip you research about your travel destinations. For Edinburgh I found some great blog posts and videos that I would like to share with you:

  • Hello Pippa – X
  • Sonne und WolkenX
  • Poppy DeyesX
  • ZoellaX & V

 

Edinburgh

Edinburgh City View

Royal Mile Edinburgh Kathedrale

Edinburgh City View Royal Mile

Bagpiper auf der Royal Mile in Edinburgh

Want to read more about the UK?

Check Out:

Stonehenge & Windsor –  England Highlights: 4 things you have to do

 

Follow with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

Liebe auf den Ersten Blick: Edinburgh

Bagpiper auf der Royal Mile in Edinburgh

Liebe auf den Ersten Blick: Edinburgh

Edinburgh ist bekannt für Whiskey, Dudelsäcke und Männer ohne Unterhosen (unterm Schottenrock). Natürlich, die besten Vorraussetzungen für einen Städtetrip. Vor dem Flug hatte ich mir einige Blogposts und Videos über die Stadt angesehen und Recherche betrieben. Dennoch hätte ich nie gedacht, dass ich mich so unheimlich in diese Stadt verlieben würde. Edinburgh ist nicht zu groß um von Menschen überrannt zu werden und doch ist es ein Sammelsurium aus Geschichte, Monarchie, modernen und flippigen Vierteln (Stockbridge!) und den süßesten Geschenkläden, die ich je gesehen habe. Jede Ecke will und muss fotografiert werden. Noch jetzt überlege ich, wann ich das nächste Mal nach Edinburgh reise…

Royal Mile in Edinburgh in November

Royal Mile Edinburgh

Me in Action

 

Die besten Zeiten für einen Besuch

Ja, die meisten Tage im Jahr regnet es in Edinburgh und im Sommer wird es selten wärmer als 20 Grad Celsius. Trotzdem kein Grund, diese schottische Schönheit nicht zu besuchen. Jedes Jahr im August verdoppeln sich die Einwohner der Stadt. Während diesem Monat wird das sogenannte Fringe Festival veranstaltet. Es ist das weltweit größte Kulturfestival! Überall in der Stadt finden verschiedene Shows, Theaterspiele und Performances statt. Unsere Freunde aus Edinburgh schwärmen von diesem Festival. Schaut euch definitiv einmal die Homepage an oder berichtet mir, falls ihr schon mal dort gewesen seid!

Meine absolute Lieblingszeit auf der britischen Insel ist der Herbst. Nichts ist so toll, als wie in einem Pub vor einem prasselnden Kaminfeuer zu sitzen, wenn es draußen aus Strömen regnet. Irgendwie sind wir nun zum zweiten Mal im November nach Großbritannien gereist, vielleicht eine kleine Tradition. Die herbstlichen Farben: Rot, Braun, Orange und Gelb dominieren in diesem Monat immer noch die Landschaft und die Städte. Gerade in Edinburgh ist der farbige Kontrast zu den grauen Häusern unglaublich schön. Und bei gutem Wetter, bieten sich die besten Fotokulissen.

Für alle Weihnachtsfans ist Edinburgh im Dezember der ultimative Reisetip! Der Weihnachtsmarkt am “East Princes Street Gardens” bietet eine unschlagbare festliche Atmosphäre. Tolle Highlights sind die Schlittschuhbahn und das Weihnachtsbaum-Labyrinth. Wenn du also schon alle Weihnachtsmärkte in deiner Stadt gesehen hast, ist Edinburgh ein Abstecher wert.

Ich auf den Straßen von Edinburgh

Fetty's College in Edinburgh

 

Die Muss-Besuche in Edinburgh

Natürlich gibt es unzählige Reiseführer, die euch alle Sehenswürdigkeiten in Edinburgh auflisten. Die Royal Mile, Mary King’s Close, der Holyrood-Palace, Arthur’s Seat und und und… Alle auch wirklich sehenswert! Dennoch gibt es aus meiner Sicht noch eine Handvoll, etwas geheimere und unbekanntere (oder einfach nur selten erwähnte, haha) Sehenswürdigkeiten und Orte, die ihr aufsuchen müsst.

Greyfriars Bobby

Nummer Eins: Greyfriars Bobby! Eine lebensgroße Statue eines kleinen Terriers. Die Geschichte dahinter: Der kleine Bobby gehörte einem Polizisten, dieser starb und wurde auf dem Friedhof Greyfriars Kirkyard begraben. Die darauf folgenden 14 Jahre lebte der kleine Bobby quasi auf dem Friedhof neben dem Grab seines Besitzers. Die Statue erinnert an den treuen Freund. Eine Mythe besagt, dass es Glück bringt, wenn man die Nase des Hundes streichelt. Der Friedhof birgt noch weitere Mythen. Viele Namen der Gräber sollen Namensgeber für Harry Potter Charaktere sein, z.B. Tom Riddle (Voldemort).

Greyfriars Bobby in Edinburgh

Grassmarket

Nun zu einem tollen Ort für’s Essen und Shoppen und zu Nummer Zwei: Edinburgh’s Grassmarket. Früher ein mittelalterlicher Marktplatz, heute gesäumt mit vielen kleinen Läden, Cafés und Pubs. Die historischen Gebäude geben dem Platz einen besonderen Touch. Das leckerste Mittagessen hatte ich im Graze On Grassmarket. Hier könnt ihr euch Tortillas, Bread Rolls, Ofenkartoffeln oder Salate zusammenstellen mit zig verschiedenen Zutaten. Ganz nach dem Motto: Alles was reinpasst. Und das für nur 3,95 Pfund! Sobald ihr dann gegessen habt, geht es weiter zum Vintageshop W. Armstrong & Son. Beim Eintreten wird man erst vom Geruch von Mottenkugeln begrüßt. Hier finden sich Kleidung aus allen Jahrzehnten. Auch alte Armee-Uniformen. Super für Mottopartys oder Karneval!

Grassmarket in Edinburgh

Edinburgh a view of the city

Forth Bridge

Die rote Forth Bridge ist eines der Wahrzeichen Edinburghs und meine Nummer Drei für euch. Über die Forth Bridge wird der Eisenbahn abgewickelt. Sie ist knapp 120 Jahre alt. Ein guter Aussichtspunkt befindet sich in South Queensferry. Erreichbar mit dem Bus oder mit dem Auto. Von hier habt ihr einen tollen Ausblick über den Firth of Forth.

Ich vor der Forth Bridge Edinburgh

Tom und ich vor der Forth Bridge in Edinburgh

Forth Bridge in Edinburgh

Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh

Nummer Vier: Botanische Gärten finde ich wahnsinnig toll. Die Ansammlung von tropischen Pflanzen und Kakteenwelten faszinieren mich. Am liebsten hätte ich genauso einen Garten in meinem Wohnzimmer (Ich arbeite dran!). Der royale botanische Garten in Edinburgh lohnt sich wirklich! Nicht nur, dass man von dort aus eine super Sicht auf die Stadt hat, auch die vielen verschiedenen Gewächs- und Tropenhäuser. Des Weiteren, müsst ihr auch einen Abstecher in das Souvenirgeschäft machen. Von dort her habe ich eine super süße Kaffeedose mit Vogel-Print (Liebe!).

 

Hip, hipper, Stockbridge

Zu meiner Nummer Fünf: Stockbridge ist gefüllt mit Charakter. Die Gegend zeichnet sich durch die vielen Giftshops, Teehäuser, kleinen Restaurants, Cafés und Pubs aus. Stockbridge fühlt sich an wie eine eigene kleine Stadt. Für kreative Köpfe und hippe Menschen, der perfekte Ort. Ich könnte hier eine riesige Liste aufführen, mit Must-Do’s in Stockbridge. Eine kleine Auflistung für die besten Plätze: Zum Essen: The Raeburn-Pub, Für eine Tasse Kaffee: Artisan Roast, Für einen kleinen Snack zwischendurch: No. 33, Zum Souvenir-Shopping: Popping Up in Stockbridge.

Häuserfassaden in Edinburgh

 

Meine liebsten Edinburgh
Blogposts & Videos

Vor jeder guten Reise recherchiert man über sein Reiseziele. Für Edinburgh habe ich einige tolle Blogposts und Videos gefunden, die ich gerne mit euch teilen möchte:

  • Hello Pippa – X
  • Sonne und WolkenX
  • Poppy DeyesX
  • ZoellaX & V

 

Edinburgh

Edinburgh City View

Royal Mile Edinburgh Kathedrale

Edinburgh City View Royal Mile

Bagpiper auf der Royal Mile in Edinburgh

Noch mehr Lust auf Großbritannien?

Check Out:

Stonehenge & Windsor –  England Highlights: 4 Dinge, die man gemacht haben muss

 

Folge mit Bloglovin

Kommentar verfassen