Our favourite places in Malta

Azure Window Malta Gozo

Our favourite places in Malta

Malta is rich in breathtaking cliffs, crystal clear waters and hidden bays. The small island in the Mediterranean Sea has much to offer. Not only during the summer season, but also during the remaining months, when the big groups of tourists have not yet arrived in Malta. We spent our time in Malta between January and March, and explored the island by car.

Happy Place: St. Peter’s Pool

It´s hard to believe that you can find such a beautiful place behind a huge power plant. On a stony and bumpy footpath we reached St. Peter’s pool. White limestone cliffs form a crescent shaped bay. The flat stone slabs are ideal for sunbathing! Over stairs carved into the stone you can hop down to the water. We were lucky enough to be all alone here. Our special Malta experience occured when we enjoyed the sun and let our feet dangle in the water. A diver came out of the sea, with freshly caught octopus! If you come in the summer, you must go early as in the afternoon it will be rammed with people.

St. Peter's Pool Malta

St. Peter's Pool Malta

 

Lunch in Marsaxlokk

Just around the corner from St. Peter’s pool you will find the picturesque fishing village of Marsaxlokk. One of the best photo spots on the island. On the shore are patched fishing nets and countless colorful fishing boats of various sizes and shapes that create a Mediterranean atmosphere. Since Marsaxlokk is home to around 70% of all Maltese fishermen, there are many good restaurants that offer seafood. A tip from us: come for a nice relaxed lunch (+ a glass of wine), and you`ll have a great chilled atmosphere and pretty view (minus the powerplant!).

Marsaxlokk Malta

Marsaxlokk Malta

 

Swimming in the crystal clear water of Ghar Lapsi

In the southern part of Malta you will find one of the most beautiful bays on the island. The road to Ghar Lapsi winds itself curving and steep down to the coast. This small bay is surrounded by a limestone cave. The bay has been converted into a natural beach by the local people. You reach the bright blue water via stone steps and iron ladders. Ghar Lapsi is not only one of our favorite places, but also divers and Maltese anglers love this place. The secretive appearance of the bay makes it a place of pure relaxation.

Ghar Lapsi Malta

Ghar Lapsi Malta

 

Dingli Cliffs – Spectacular Sunsets

For all sunset lovers we have a great tip! The 220-meter-high Cliffs of Dingli in the west, drop steeply into the Mediterranean Sea. Over a rocky gravel road, which can only be passed on foot, you have a fantastic view. There you can climb on a rock, with one or two beers in your bag, and enjoy the magical moment when the sun kisses the sea! For couples, romance is guaranteed.

 

Dingli Cliffs Malta Sunset

 

The former landmark of Malta –  The Azure Window

The Azure Window on the neighboring island of Gozo, stood just a few months ago in any guidebook as the tourist attraction par excellence. The great gate of limestone has become famous through the television series Game of Thrones. But because of a heavy storm in March 2017 the popular rocky gate collapsed and unfortunately there is nothing left. Tom and I were still lucky enough to take a look at the Azure Window and shoot photos before its unfortunate end.

Azure Window Malta Gozo

 

 Comino, a refuge for relaxation

Situated between Malta and Gozo, the small limestone island once was home to pirates, smugglers, cholera and pestilence victims. Today, only 1-2 families live here and run the only hotel. Despite the small size, the island is listed in every guidebook. Because it has one of the most breathtaking bays of the whole Mediterranean Sea, guaranteed! White sand and intensely rich blue water, yes it’s real! A bay like you´d find in paradise. In summer, the Blue Lagoon is also quite crowded. I would recommend to book an excursion with an organizer or to visit the Blue Lagoon before 10 o’clock or after 4 o’clock, then you will meet significantly less people. But also the speedboat trip from the ferry port in Cirkewwa is worth a trip to Comino.

Blue Lagoon Comino Malta

Blue Lagoon Comino Malta

 

Have you ever been to Malta? What are your favorite places?

You can read more about Malta’s capital Valletta here.

Follow with Bloglovin

Gib dein Kommentar ab!

Unsere Lieblingsorte auf Malta

Azure Window Malta Gozo

Unsere Lieblingsorte auf Malta

Malta ist reich an atemberaubenden Klippen, kristallklarem Wasser und versteckten Badebuchten. Die kleine Insel im Mittelmeer hat viel Sehenswertes zu bieten. Und das nicht nur in der Hauptsaison im Sommer, sondern auch während den restlichen Monaten, wenn die Touristenschwärme noch nicht eingefallen sind. Unsere Zeit auf Malta verbrachten Tom und ich zwischen Januar und März. Mit dem Auto erkundeten wir die Insel und möchten euch unsere Lieblingsorte vorstellen.

Happy Place: St. Peter’s Pool

Man glaubt kaum, dass man auf der Straße in Richtung eines riesengroßen Kraftwerks, noch so einen wunderschönen Ort findet. Auf einem etwas steinigen und holprigen Fußweg gelangten wir zum St. Peter’s Pool. Weiße Kalkfelsen bilden halbmondförmig eine Badebucht der besonderen Art. Die flachen Steinplatten laden optimal zum sonnenbaden ein! Runter zum Wasser geht es über eingehauene Treppen im Stein. Wir hatten das große Glück, dort ganz alleine zu sein. Es war einfach ein Wahnsinnsgefühl. Unser Malta-Erlebnis hatten wir dann, als wir entspannt die Sonne genossen haben und die Füße im Wasser baumeln lassen haben: Ein Taucher kam aus dem Meer, mit frisch gefangener Krake! Falls ihr im Sommer kommt, unbedingt früh hingehen, zu späteren Zeit wird es garantiert voll werden.

St. Peter's Pool Malta

St. Peter's Pool Malta

Zum Mittagessen nach Marsaxlokk

Nur ein Katzensprung vom St. Peter’s Pool entfernt liegt das bildhübsche Fischerdorf Marsaxlokk. Eine der besten Fotokulissen der Insel. Am Ufer liegen geflickte Fischernetze und unzählige bunte Fischerboote in verschiedenen Größen und Formen, welche für eine mediterrane Stimmung sorgen. Da Marsaxlokk der Heimathafen von rund 70% der maltesischen Fischern ist, findet ihr dort sehr viele gute Restaurants die Meeresfrüchte anbieten. Ein Tipp von uns: Kommt fürs Mittag oder Abendessen (+ einem Glas Wein) her, dann habt ihr eine super Atmosphäre und eine tolle Stimmung.

Marsaxlokk Malta

Marsaxlokk Malta

 

Schwimmen im kristallklarem Wasser von Ghar Lapsi

Im südlichen Teil von Malta befindet sich eine der schönsten Buchten der Insel. Die Straße nach Ghar Lapsi windet sich kurvig und steil zur Küste hinunter. Die kleine Badebucht wird von einer Höhle aus Kalkstein umgeben. Die Bucht wurde von den Einheimischen zu einem natürlichen Strandbad umgebaut. In das strahlend blaue Wasser kommt man über Steinstufen und Eisenleitern. Ghar Lapsi ist nicht nur unser Lieblingsort, sondern auch Taucher und maltesische Angler sind hier anzutreffen. Die Abgeschottenheit der Bucht macht sie zu einem Ort der puren Entspannung.

Ghar Lapsi Malta

Ghar Lapsi Malta

 

Dingli Cliffs – spektakuläre Sonnenuntergänge

Für alle Sonnenuntergangsliebhaber haben wir hier einen Geheimtipp! Die im Westen gelegenen 220 Meter hohen Klippen von Dingli, ragen steil ins Mittelmeer ab. Über einen steinigen Schotterweg, der nur zu Fuß passiert  werden kann, erreicht ihren einen Aussichtsfelsen. Dort könnt ihr, mit ein, zwei Bier im Gepäck, hinauf klettern, und den magischen Moment genießen, wenn die Sonne das Meer küsst! Für Pärchen ist hier die Romantik garantiert.

 

Dingli Cliffs Malta Sunset

 

Das einstige Wahrzeichen von Malta –  Das Azure Window

Das Azure Window auf der Nachbarinsel Gozo, stand bis vor wenigen Monaten noch in jedem Reiseführer als die Touristenattraktion schlechthin. Berühmt ist das große Tor aus Kalkstein durch die Fernsehserie Game of Thrones geworden. Doch durch einen schweren Sturm im März 2017 ist das beliebte Felsentor eingestürzt und leider ist gar nichts mehr übrig. Tom und ich hatten noch das Glück, einen Blick auf das Azure Window zu werfen und Fotos zu schießen, bevor es im Meer versankt.

Azure Window Malta Gozo

 

 Comino, der Zufluchtsort für Entspannung

Zwischen Malta und Gozo gelegen, beherbergte die kleine Kalksteininsel, einst Piraten, Schmuggler, Cholera- und Pestopfer. Heute leben auf Comino nur noch 1-2 Familien und ein Hotel wird betrieben. Trotz der geringen Größe wird die Insel in jedem Reiseführer aufgeführt. Das liegt an einer der atemberaubendsten Buchten des ganzen Mittelmeerraumes, garantiert! Das schöne Fleckchen Erde mit weißem Sand und intensiv sattem blauen Wasser, lässt jeden staunen. Eine Bucht wie im Paradies. Im Sommer ist die Blue Lagoon daher auch ziemlich überfüllt. Empfehlen würde ich, einen Ausflug mit einem Veranstalter zu buchen oder vor 10 Uhr oder nach 16 Uhr die Blue Lagoon zu besuchen, dann werdet ihr auf deutlich weniger Mitbader treffen. Aber auch alleine die Speedbootfahrt vom Fährhafen in Cirkewwa ist einen Ausflug nach Comino wert.

Blue Lagoon Comino Malta

Blue Lagoon Comino Malta

 

Wart ihr auch schon mal auf Malta? Was sind eure Lieblingsorte?

Über Malta’s Hauptstadt Valletta könnt ihr hier mehr lesen.

Folgt mit Bloglovin

Kommentar verfassen